Legion 33 – 48

 

legion33

Supergirl and the Legion of Super-Heroes #33
Written by Tony Bedard
Art by Dennis Calero

It has been a while so it took me a while to remember what had gone before in this series, but I caught up. Looks like Lightning Lad’s brother and the wanderer’s are villanous after all. I am pretty sure Lightning Lord was a villain in other versions of the Legion, I am not sure about the wanderers yet. Calero’s art was a little distracting, I am not sure how I feel about it.

legion34

Supergirl and the Legion of Super-Heroes #34
Written by Tony Bedard
Art by Dennis Calero

This issue introduces Wildfire into this version of the Legion’s continuity. Apparently, he is a villain. I don’t know if Wildfire was a villain at first in the other Legions but I guess he is here. I liked this a lot better then last issue but the art is still distracting. It’s too dark and too hard to read. I am not a fan.

 

 

legion35

Supergirl and the Legion of Super-Heroes #35
Written by Tony Bedard
Art by Dennis Calero

This was more like it. Wildfire reverts to the side of angels, and Lightning Lad, Saturn Girl, and Supergirl fight a guy who can control his evolution I guess. And it looks like there is some kind of time machine involved, I am not sure. This was good stuff and the art was much better. I knew Calero had it in him.

legion36

Supergirl and the Legion of Super-Heroes #36
Written by Tony Bedard
Art by Dennis Calero

What a great ending to this arc. Bedard hits it out of the park with this issue revealing Brainy’s good intentions behind the last few issue and sending Supergirl home to the 21st century. I seem to remember her splitting into two different people during World War II though, I wonder why that was? I don’t know but anyways it was fun having Supergirl in this title while it lasted, but like the Legion said, eventually she had to go home.

 

legion37

Legion of Super-Heroes (Volume 5) #37
Written by Jim Shooter
Art by Frances Manapul

With just one issue, I can tell you that I totally understand why Shooter is hailed as a classic legion writer. I really loved this, and I am only familiar with this incarnation of the Legion. Not to mention, Manapul’s art is gorgous. He draw sexy girls AND guys it’s perfect! The first Supergirl-less issue is a hit! I wonder if the girl introduced this issue will become a legionairre. I hope so, it is about time someone created a new original one.

legion38

Legion of Super-Heroes (Volume 5) #38
Written by Jim Shooter
Art by Frances Manapul

Another excellent issue from Shooter and Manapul, I think it’s safe to say this is the best creative team this book has ever had. The legion tryout were hilarious but I agree with Light Lass, Lightning Lad was being an idiot. I guess he is a little in over his head as Legion Leader. I felt bad when he cried to himself at the end. That has got to be a stressful job. I wish they had picked one of the goofy candidates, the Legion has a tradition of having one character with a weird seemingly useless power, but they are also great characters. I bet Giselle or M’Rissey will be joining soon though. I like them both.

legion39

Legion of Super-Heroes (Volume 5) #39
Written by Jim Shooter
Art by Frances Manapul

This issue is sort of a day in the life where most of the time we just see Legionnaires walking around the headquarters in their underwear….and it was damn good. I am really enjoying Shooter’s run, and I love the way Manapul draws the 31st century. You really get the sense that this is another world. The only complaint I have is that Shooter seems to be overdoing the fake future swaring. I really don’t want to hear the word, “florg” anymore. It is fine once in a while, but not on every page. I feel bad for Projectra.

legion40

Legion of Super-Heroes (Volume 5) #40
Written by Jim Shooter
Art by Frances Manapul

Still digging this run so far, I especially like how they point out every Legionairre and their powers, it makes things a lot less confusing for us newbs. When Waid was on the book they would mention just like three and expect us to know the rest. I think Saturn Girl was treated a bit harsh but I guess messing with someone’s mind is pretty invasive. There were so many great character moments this issue I don’t even know where to begin. Shooter is a fantastic writer.

legion41

Legion of Super-Heroes (Volume 5) #41
Written by Jim Shooter
Art by Aaron Lopestri

Ahh things are getting frustrating for the Legion this issue and I can feel it while reading this. I almost got as stressed out as Lightning Lad must be. The UP are being jackasses as usual, and now they have arrested Invisible Kid. Giselle is part of the new UP Young Heroes team, I had hoped she would become a legionairre. Speaking of Giselle, Lopestri doesn’t draw her right in this issue at all. She is not just a pale girl. Can’t wait for Manapul to come back.

legion42

Legion of Super-Heroes (Volume 5) #42
Written by Jim Shooter
Art by Frances Manapul

Manapul returns this issue, but his art suffers a bit. During the battle scenes, things seemed to be a little…off I guess. He is usually very good but things were different then. Honestly, I can’t really tell much difference between the new uniforms and the old, but I am not a detail oriented person. Popoff is a jackass and I hope he gets what is coming for him. Invisible Kid’s Dad was very sweet to him, I was happy to see that.

legion43

Legion of Super-Heroes (Volume 5) #43
Written by Jim Shooter
Art by Frances Manapul

I wonder if Karate Kid and Triplicate Girl went to Final Crisis: Legion of Three Worlds. That would be my guess, and I like that use of continuity. As for the rest of this issue, it was pretty good. Action-packed and eventful, I liked it. Manapul didn’t draw Gazelle to look exactly like she used to. She definitely looks more human now and I don’t like that inconsistency.

legion44

Legion of Super-Heroes (Volume 5) #44
Written by Jim Shooter
Art by Sanford Greene

I question whether it was smart to put someone with such a cartooney art style on this book, but it wasn’t bad art. This issue was really good, I love M’Rissey and I hope they make him a Legionnaire! Considering he just saved their asses with his crazy business mind. I wish he could handle my finances! What should they call him, Business Boy. And I am glad that Invisible Kid showed everyone that he can be a warrior as well. Fantastic issue. I am sad that this book is going to end as these are MY legionnaires. Oh and I loved the way the cover of this issue was set up.

legion45

Legion of Super-Heroes (Volume 5) #45
Written by Jim Shooter
Art by Frances Manapul

I am glad Shooter didn’t draw out the invader planet thing for more then one issue, as he gets it done in just one. This is another reason why Shooter is a good writer, he gets pacing. I was a little shocked by the Saturn Girl and Ultra Boy thing. This is clearly just lust because we know Saturn Girl is not attracted to Ultra Boy’s personality and I don’t think Lightning Lad is treating her really bad, he has just got a lot on his plate. Also, Manapul is really good again this issue.

legino46

Legion of Super-Heroes (Volume 5) #46
Written by Jim Shooter
Art by Frances Manapul

This was another fantastic issue. The cover story of Ultra Boy fighting some losers wasn’t that interesting, but Lightning Lad finds out this issue and acts very mature about it, putting his personal feelings aside in order to lead the Legion effectively. I am not sure why Ultra Boy said Lightning Lad hurt him so much. This series is so much better then it was under Waid, and I liked Waid’s run. I wish DC wasn’t canceling it.

legion47

Legion of Super-Heroes (Volume 5) #47
Written by Jim Shooter
Art by Rick Leonardi

Ugh I wish they didn’t have these fill-in artists because I love Manapul’s art so much. Leonardi draws Brainiac 5 too young looking, like he looked during the Archie Legion. Why do they call it the “Archie” Legion anyways? What happened to Dream Boy? We haven’t seen him since Shooter took over nor have we heard from Wildfire. The romance between Dream Girl and Brainiac 5 is a adorable and I am loving every minute of it. Too Bad Princess Projectra has gone rogue, I used to like her. Maybe she still has some redeeming qualities not yet seen.

legino48

Legion of Super-Heroes (Volume 5) #48
Written by Jim Shooter
Art by Frances Manapul

It’s time again for Legion Try-Outs, which are probably one of the coolest things about the Legion I think. Night Girl, Sizzle, and Turtle are rejected but are brought into the Legion Reserves (I think this is meant to be a version of the subs) and Gazelle is brought in as the newest member of the Legion with Sun Boy returning as well. This issue was a lot of fun. The destroyer race is pretty high concept with all the virtual reality stuff so I am a little confused by it but it’s all good. I sure hope this Legion gets to stay around after Final Crisis: Legion of Three Worlds.

Leave a comment