Action Comics 860 – 871

a860Action Comics #860
Written by Geoff Johns
Art by Gary Frank

While I am more familiar with the threeboot legion, it is still cool to see all of the original Legionnaires come back and I can’t even comprehend the excitement of the fans of those characters while reading this. This was a fantastic issue for fans and newbies alike. Check it out. Frank’s art is amazing.

a861

Action Comics #861
Written by Geoff Johns
Art by Gary Frank

Another fine issue of Action Comics. There were a lot of fantastic moments, I liked the foreshadowing of the Crisis of the 31st century and all that stuff. Frank’s art is beautiful and perfect for the Legion. I am really getting into all these characters, many of whom I am meeting for the first time. Eye-Full Ethel is hilarious. Is that a new character? I will have to find out.

a862

Action Comics #862
Written by Geoff Johns
Art by Gary Frank

I am now in love with the Legion of Subsitute Heroes. What a fascinating bunch…from Chlorphyll Kid’s belief in talking to plants to Rainbow Girl’s mood swings they are a lot of fun to read about. As for the main plot, I really hope Superman gives Earth-Man a good ass whooping.

a863

Action Comics #863
Written by Geoff Johns
Art by Gary Frank

While this arc was a little long, it was a lot of fun. This was a great conclusion. Superman kicks Earth-Man’s ass and tells the xenophobic humans he is for everyone. And the ending flashback was so heartwarming. Great stuff Johns!

a864

Action Comics #864
Written by Geoff Johns
Art by Joe Prado

This story really set everything up for Legion of Three World and for fans of the DC Universe, it is very exciting. Batman and Lightning Lad play off each other well. I like the tie-in to Countdown with Karate Kid and Una whom I had forgotten even died. This was a great issue with great use of continuity.

a865

Action Comics #865
Written by Geoff Johns
Art by Jesus Merino

This issue focuses on Superman’s famous villian, the Toyman and in perfect Johns fashion, explains away basically all the changes and continuity glitches about the character. Apparently all the different Toymen, even the Hiro one, were just robots created by Winslow Schott. As usual, it’s perfect and I can’t believe no one has thought about this before. Johns is a genius! Toyman may come off as someone who was taken advantage of and someone who does care for children in this issue, but Johns shows with the ending that he is still a deeply disturbed individual. I loved how Toyman doesn’t want to go to Arkham because he doesn’t want to be associated with Batman’s villains. Great issue.

a866

Action Comics #866
Written by Geoff Johns
Art by Gary Frank

Johns is really doing a lot to revitalize everything about Superman’s world. Everything from his villains to the Daily Planet staff is being fleshed out and made better. This arc is going to revitalize Brainiac and it looks like it is working. He is certainly creepier then ever here. But my favorite parts of this issue were at the Daily Planet and the interaction with the staff. The Superman books are the best they have been since I started reading comics thanks to Johns.

a867

Action Comics #867
Written by Geoff Johns
Art by Gary Frank

Frank’s art really makes this issue. There were some fantastic moments because of his art. I especially like his design for Branianc’s Robots. Supergirl’s revelation about Brainiac is similar to Toyman and how most Braniac’s that Superman has met are just probes and not the real Brainiac. In fact, Superman has never met the real Brainiac. One thing I am confused about is how Supergirl’s parents remember Kandor disappearing but over in Superman and the New Krypton storyline they are in Kandor. Hmmm…I bet this will be explained though. Oh and what about the Kandor that Supergirl visited with Ultraman, is that not the real Kandor?

a868

Action Comics #868
Written by Geoff Johns
Art by Gary Frank
`

Superman comes face to face with the real Brainiac in this issue and he is one scary mother fucker. So he basically takes a sample of a culture and destorys the rest, so I wonder if he is responsible for Krypton’s destruction. I wish Johns’s run wasn’t so focused on Krypton as I always preferred the Post-Crisis Superman who considers himself to be a human thing but this is good writing and good story-telling so I can’t complain. The whole thing with the Kents seems a little forced though, what is it that made them think this thing with Brainiac was any different? Nothing really.

a869

Action Comics #869
Written by Geoff Johns
Art by Gary Frank

So the stuff with Supergirl’s parents is explained in this issue and in a way that harkens back to the pre-crisis idea that Argo City survived the initial destruction of Krypton. As for Metropolis, it looks like it has become a bottled city. Oh and I was right, Brainiac is responsible for Krypton’s destruction! Good guess on my part. Kudos to me haha.

a870

Action Comics #870
Written by Geoff Johns
Art by Gary Frank

While the conclusion to this arc was action-packed and awesome, I am not too saddened by the death of Jonathan Kent. The fact of the matter is he died the same way in Superman: The Movie and in Smallville so I have seen it before and I really don’t care. I don’t really get why things have to be like the Donner movie, a movie that my generation doesn’t even remember. Although, it doesn’t matter to me if he is alive or not, at least it fit in this story. As for the New Krypton stuff to come, we will see how that goes, I don’t know how I feel about it yet.

a871

Action Comics #871
Written by Geoff Johns
Art by Pete Woods

This is part 4 of the New Krypton Storyline that began in the New Krypton special, then continued here, and in the Guardian Special. I wasn’t really looking forward to this storyline but so far it has been a blast! The scene of all the Kryptonians taking out Doomsday on the moon was fantastic and I think that it really shows the strength of artist Pete Woods. Sam Lane doesn’t look like a total bad guy here as it makes sense that there should be some defense in case the Kryptonians go rogue. I love how he shot Luthor is the shoulder when he mentioned Lois. Wasn’t expecting that. As for the Kryptonian Nightwing and Flamebird, I really hope they show them interacting with our Nightwing and Flamebird. That would be interesting. Oh and Doomsday deserved to die just for fucking with Connor’s statue alone.

Leave a comment