Shadowpact 15 – 25

Shadowpact #15
Written by Bill Willingham

Art by Tom Derenick

Whoa did a volcanoe just erupt in Chicago? My home town?! Oh no you didn’t Doctor Gotham. I hope the Shadowpact kicks your ass! Decent issue of Shadowpact. Zauriel is officially on the team now.

Shadowpact #16
Written by Bill Willingham

Art by Tom Derenick

The Justice League guest stars in this issue – and not only does Willingham not do his research on Chicago – it’s the Magnificent Mile dumbass, not Miracle Mile! – but he also does not even read any other DCU comics because Zatanna and Supergirl are not currently members of the Justice League. Willingham is a lazy writer when it comes to the DCU and sometimes I think he should just stick to Fables. Anyways, this was okay.
Shadowpact #17
Written by Matthew Sturges Art by Doug Braithwaite

I forgot what happened – I think Willingham got sick – but Matthew Sturges begins his run with this issue. And I enjoyed it. The art was fantastic, I loved the painted style. There was some gruesome scenes in this – a girl driving a nail through her eye and a man exploding out of Doctor Gotham’s head. Pretty gross but awesome.

Shadowpact #18
Written by Matthew Sturges

Art by Tom Derenick

Okay this was another disturbing issue where a woman is literally melted alive. The art is good, you can see the pain upon herself. Too bad it something that I don’t really want to see her. Story is good though. I am not complaining.

Shadowpact #19
Written by Matthew Sturges Art by Phil Winslade

Yay! Part of Chicago is in the Nightshade Dimension. That should be fun. As for the main plot, Protege’s defeat seemed kinda easy. But it was still good. I like Winslade’s art a lot.

Shadowpact #20
Written by Matthew Sturges

Art by Kieren Dwyer

Oh it is good to see Rex the Wonder Dog, a series can never have enough talking animals. Anyways, looks like it wasn’t Chicago after all but in fact the city Nightmaster gained his sword. Decent issue with some funny dialogue.

Shadowpact #21
Written by Matthew Sturges

Art by Tom Derenick

Haha Detective Chimps is cruising Furry websites looking for some answer. That is just freaking hilarious! This was a really good issue as I liked learning about the unbound. They are really interesting. It looks like the Shadowpact may have accidentally let them into our universe now.

Shadowpact #22
Written by Matthew Sturges

Art by Phil Winslade

The Shadowpact defeats the unbound and Nightmaster decides to leave the team and stay behind. It makes sense, and really shows how good-hearted he is. Nice conclusion to this arc.

Shadowpact #23
Written by Matthew Sturges

Art by Phil Winslade

I like how in Hell Court, you sware on a book of dirty jokes. Hahaha. But Blue Devil reverts to being a human in this issue and I hope that isn’t permanent. He is a great character and it would be a shame to see him go. But maybe he could be retired for a while?

Shadowpact #24
Written by Matthew Sturges

Art by Phil Winslade

They finally face the sun king in the penultimate issue. This sun king thing has run on for too long and I am glad they are concluding even though it is only because the series is ending. It was cool to see Blue Devil’s original costume but I still hope he reverts back to being a demon.

Shadowpact #25
Written by Matthew Sturges

Art by Phil Winslade

This is the Final Issue of this series and it was good and actually solved all of the dangling plot threads. Blue Devil is a demon again and the Sun King has been defeated. I will miss my monthly does of Detective Chimp and I think this series had a lot of potential if only more people were reading it. I look forward to seeing the Shadowpact around the DCU.

Leave a comment