Hellblazer Rebirth 1 – 10

hellblazer1

The Hellblazer (Volume 2) #1
Written by Simon Oliver
Art by Moritat

I have to admit this is really my first experience with the character of John Constantine if you can believe it. He was walled off from the DCU  for most of the time I read comics before Rebirth and I never got around to picking up his series. I like him already in this debut Rebirth issue he makes a deal with Swamp Thing and we learn a little bit about why that happened and there are various other interesting subplots. I am excited to see what happens next.

hellblazer2

The Hellblazer (Volume 2) #2
Written by Simon Oliver
Art by Moritat

After an easy to understand first issue, this issue seemed like it needed cliff notes for a Constantine newbie like myself. I guess I get the general plot, he is chased through London by these evil twins but other than that all the name dropping was lost on me. Thank God we have wikipedia.

hellblazer3

The Hellblazer (Volume 2) #3
Written by Simon Oliver
Art by Moritat

This one was definitely easier to understand – I love that London has sentient spirit of place called “Map.” I am surprised Constantine would laugh at Djinn if he is the expert occultist that he is – I can imagine Djinn in the DCU would be a scary threat. His explanation of the Djinn’s history isn’t really true to real life Djinn mythology but whatever.

hellblazer4

The Hellblazer (Volume 2) #4
Written by Simon Oliver
Art by Moritat

This was a decent issue. Some of the references are hard to get if you aren’t part of British culture but that’s okay – it is a British character after all. I hope Swamp Thing is okay!

hellblazer5

The Hellblazer (Volume 2) #5
Written by Simon Oliver
Art by Pia Guerra

We get to learn more about John Constantine’s history with Mercury – or at least get hints of it – in this issue. I can’t say that Simon Oliver does a great job of updating readers who are not familiar with this character’s history. But whatever maybe it really isn’t necessary in the days of instant information like I said.

hellblazer6

The Hellblazer (Volume 2) #6
Written by Simon Oliver
Art by Pia Guerra

Now this was an issue I can say I completely understood without looking up past history. We learn more about what the Djinn are up to and what happened to Mercury in that other dimension. Good issue.

hellblazer7

The Hellblazer (Volume 2) #7
Written by Simon Oliver
Art by Philip Tan

Ok Philip Tan’s art in this issue is full on manga style wow with the big eyes and everything it was pretty jarring. It was a decent issue focusing on Constantine and Mercury meeting an old man to learn more about the Djinn only to find the man being dead and his journal taken by a street gang member? I think that is what happening at least.

hellblazer8

The Hellblazer (Volume 2) #8
Written by Simon Oliver
Art by Philip Tan

More of Constantine and Mercury in Paris now tracking Henry’s stolen journal which looks to have something about the Djin in it or something I don’t know I was distracted on how much I disliked Tan’s artwork.

hellblazer9

The Hellblazer (Volume 2) #9
Written by Simon Oliver
Art by Davide Fabbri

I have to say that this book has had the most inconsistent artwork of any rebirth series. The character of Mercury looks very different with every artist change – it is so jarring. That being said, Fabbri is a quality artist. There was a moment where Constantine insults some yuppies that made me smile and clap. I am not sure what is going on with this Mr. Carver and the angel the Djinn guy tortured.

hellblazer10

The Hellblazer (Volume 2) #9
Written by Simon Oliver
Art by Davide Fabbri

Constantine and Mercury are nearly killed by werewolves but are saved by a character named Papa Midnite who seemed really interesting but he doesn’t stick around. The art is good but I really want this whole Djinn plotline to resolve itself soon.

Leave a Reply

