I’m Batman Because I’m Batman

Bat24

Batman (Volume 3) #24
Written by Tom King
Art by David Finch, Clay Mann, and Seth Mann

Tom King writes one of the greatest lines for Batman in this issue. Gotham Girls asks him if he likes being Batman and he says, “I am not Batman because I like being Batman, I am Batman because I’m Batman.” This was one of my issues with the Dark Knight Rises movie. The real Bruce Wayne is Batman, Bruce Wayne is just a character he plays. It is the opposite of Superman, where Clark Kent is the real Superman.  I won’t go into how often the Superman comics have gotten this wrong in recent years by overly focusing on Krypton, but I think Tom King understand this facet of the character of Batman. The entire scene in this comic where Batman and Gotham Girl discuss superheroics is almost required reading if you truly want to understand the character of Batman. I like how he admits he is scared and it is his fear that motivates him. It is true if you are not somewhat scared of the world you must be insane. And yes, I am sure you have heard by now, this issue ends with Batman proposing to Catwoman. And it fits and it was natural and I love it. I especially loved that it is with the same diamond Catwoman was going to steal when they first met all the way back in 1940’s Batman #1. Incredible use of continuity!

Leave a Reply

