Detective Comics 954 – 957

tec954

Detective Comics #954
Written by James Tynion IV
Art by Marcio Takara

I am not sure how I feel about Takara’s art but this was another magnificent issue. The League of Shadows are about to destroy Gotham City and Jacob Kane says no one could take them on and survive, not even Batman or Batwoman. Then Jacob asks who could? And we get a panel of Cassandra Cain ready to fight!!!! I love you as a writer James Tynion IV. I screamed with joy at that page.

tec955

Detective Comics #955
Written by James Tynion IV
Art by Marcio Takara

This was a fantastic issue filled with badass Cassandra Cain moments standing up to her mother, even declaring that she knews her ability to fight and not kill has to impress her mother even if she says it doesn’t. Tynion IV undestands my favorite character – the best character DC has to offer and I am eating this series up. The final page had me cheering again!

tec956

Detective Comics #956
Written by James Tynion IV
Art by Marcio Takara

In this conclusion to the league of Shadows story arc, Lady Shiva is shockingly killed by gunshot by Ra’s Al Ghul during her incredible fight with Cassandra Cain. Before she dies, she tells Cassandra something but we are not privy to what it was. I can’t wait to see where this goes….I loved this story arc and the focus it put on Cassandra finally being the star she deserved to be.

tec957

Detective Comics #957
Written by James Tynion IV and Christopher Sebela
Art by Carmen Carnero

This issue focuses exclusively on Stephanie Brown as she is now fighting on her own as the Spoiler – and doing it without any credit I guess? I am not sure I quite understand what her deal is and why she is saying she is not a hero but at the same time just being a hero in secret? I don’t know if I am dense but it was unclear to me. Anyways, no Cassandra Cain make this the worst issue of Tynion’s run in my book.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

