Titans 1 – 9

Titans_Vol_3_1

Titans (Volume 3) #1
Written by Dan Abnett
Art by Brett Booth

It is so strange when they flashback to the old Teen Titans days and Dick Grayson is shown to be wearing what is essentially the Time Drake Robin costume. I know that is a New 52 thing…but it is just dumb. DC should not be ashamed of their past, they should embrace it. It is strange that Wally skips over essentially everything post-crisis in the opening narraration except for Linda Park. What about Barry’s death and the birth of his kids? Out of all the new Titans costumes, I think I liked Donna Troy’s the best. I think she was do for a refresher. It really speaks to her past as Wonder Girl and her time as Troia. I am not a fan of Tempest or Garth’s (Is he still called Tempest?), I think his Pre-Flashpoint costume was better. It was so great to see this team back together and for their history to be restored. Now I would like to know if they eventually remember the Wolfman/Perez era and the rest of their history. Titans Together! Oh and unlike the other writers, Abnett seems to understand Wally West is Keystone City’s hero. I am glad we are finally getting to see Keystone again.

Titans_Vol_3_2

Titans (Volume 3) #2
Written by Dan Abnett
Art by Brett Booth

Okay I haven’t exactly enjoyed Abnett’s Aquaman run so I was not expecting much from this book other than hints at the big Rebirth mystery, and there are plenty of that. But I am genuinely enjoying this series in it’s second issue. Even though this whole issue was a big fight with the Titans and Abra Kadabra it still had great characterization and pacing. I was surprised. Abra Kadabra seems to know that Doctor Manhattan or whoever the big bad is that broke history. So that means him, Psycho Pyrate, Superman, Wally, and Lois all seem to know. Linda Park seems closer to meeting Wally again already. I like that. I hope they eventually remember their kids. Also, it looks like Abnett is hinting at bringing back the Donna and Roy romance.

Titans_Vol_3_3

Titans (Volume 3) #3
Written by Dan Abnett
Art by Brett Booth

It is interesting that apparently only part of the Titans history is remembered by the team. Probably until the what..mid seventies? Because Karen Beecher thinks she has never been Bumblebee and nobody remembers they have fought Abra Kadabra before even though Wally remembers. Anyways, I have very little experience with the character of Lilith Clay, but I am beginning to like her as the spooky supernatural member of the team instead of the frankly overused Raven. Wally’s meeting with Linda Park was sad. I can’t imagine the pain of your spouse not knowing who you are. In the end, Linda is kidnapped by Abra Kadabra. I am really loving this book so far. It feels like I am back with old friends.

Titans_Vol_3_4

Titans (Volume 3) #4
Written by Dan Abnett
Art by Brett Booth

Abnett demonstrates he knows Wally’s history beyond the bronze age when he has Abra Kadabra refer to Linda as Wally’s lightning rod that keeps him anchored to the world outside the speed force. That is very true, she always was, and I like that Abra Kadabra thinks she won’t be because she doesn’t love him now that she doesn’t remember him. His plan is to get Wally to run to Keystone City, Gotham, Metropolis, and Coast City…so fast that he disappears into the Speed Force. So there is 7,000 miles between them? Does that confirm my theory that Keystone is in Kansas, Gotham is in New Jersey, Coast City is in California, and Metropolis is in Delaware? Interesting. I love DCU geography.

Titans_Vol_3_5

Titans (Volume 3) #5
Written by Dan Abnett
Art by Brett Booth

This issue showed just how much of a loving hero Wally West is as he runs to all corners of the US to save his friends and the love of his life. Do I think he is actually gone for good into the speed force? No, but I loved how this whole issue really took place in seconds yet Abnett wrote it so it was still interesting.

Titans_Vol_3_6

Titans (Volume 3) #6
Written by Dan Abnett
Art by Brett Booth

Wally West returns from the Speed Force by using his best friends as lightning rod in this issue and Abra Kadabra is defeated. I loved the moments between the Linda Park memory in the speed force and Wally. The best part came though when Omen reaches into Abra Kadabra’s head and gets the word “Manhattan” as in Dr. Manhattan! I believe that is the first time anyone has said his name so far in the DCU. The big bad blue guy is coming soon! Oh and even though it has been years….I have no interest in the last page. Deathstroke is so over used.

Titans_Vol_3_7

Titans (Volume 3) #7
Written by Dan Abnett
Art by Lee Weeks

The Titans settle down at their new base in Manhattan grown using Atlantean technology. I love how they have a lawyer dealing with all the ramifications of having headquarters in New York including asking for FAA clearance for their invisible jet. Meanwhile, Superman and Wally catch up as they both remember the original DCU. How did I not think about that?! Of course they should catch up. They are former Justice Leaguers together. Also, Donna Troy now doesn’t remember where she comes from again! Interesting…will they create another new origin for her or will she just find out what she knew before Flashpoint eventually? How cool is it that Titans Tower is now in the middle of Manhattan!

Titans_Vol_3_8

Titans (Volume 3) #8
Written by Dan Abnett
Art by Brett Booth

Wow I am not a big fan of Abnett on Aquaman, but he is making this a great series. I get the feeling of the Titans as a family soap opera that just happens to be about Superheroes again just like the old days. Anyways, this issue had a number of subplots but mostly was about Mal Duncan and Bumblebee who is now trying out her powers for the first time. She did not originally have metahuman powers right? Except for her time as a small bee-sized person? So it seems Abnett is doing something different with her. I do like the new costume. I can’t believe Mal Duncan gave up his powers though! I imagine he will get them back.

Titans_Vol_3_9

Titans (Volume 3) #9
Written by Dan Abnett
Art by Brett Booth

The Titans discover Meta Solutions is being run by the supposedly reformed Fearsome Five. They don’t buy it even though Lilith says they are being honest and do some investigating and of course they haven’t really informed but are selling super powers or something. It is interesting they say Bumblebee has alpha-class meta powers. I wonder why she is so powerful?

Leave a Reply

