Nightwing 1 – 16

Nightwing_Vol_4_1

Nightwing (Volume 4) #1
Written by Tim Seeley
Art by Javier Fernandez

How great is it to see Nightwing in that costume again? It’s been what ten years since he wore that beautiful – frankly iconic – Nightwing costume. DC….what were you thinking? He should have been returned to that immediately after he stopped being Batman. Speaking of that, Dick refers to his time as Batman. Does that mean Final Crisis happened in the New 52 universe or is this a result of Rebirth restoring the timeline? Interesting. This was a great start to this series but not exactly a good jumping on point for new readers for a first issue. We aren’t really told what is going on with this Parliament of Owls other than they are forcing Dick to work with them or they think they are and he is playing them. I don’t know much about the Court of Owls because they are a new 52 creation. Anyways, it is still weird to see Barbara Gordon in a Batgirl costume and not Oracle and looking so young. Is she still suppose to be the same age as Dick?  So far…this is good. Seeley seems to really understand Dick Grayson as a character and the art is perfect for a Nightwing book.

Nightwing_Vol_4_2

Nightwing (Volume 4) #2
Written by Tim Seeley
Art by Javier Fernandez

This was a fantastic comic. I like how Seeley writes Nightwing’s narraration. It isn’t all action, there is depth to this story. I don’t like how the Raptor knows their have been different Robins. That is dumb. The general public in the DCU should not know that. Also, how is Barbara flying to Tokyo and back? Does Bruce bankroll her?

Nightwing_Vol_4_3

Nightwing (Volume 4) #3
Written by Tim Seeley
Art by Javier Fernandez

How cool is it that Nightwing knows tarot cards! Although, it would be super hard to guess the spread just on what he knew about the situation it was still cool to see if him do it. I think Barbara overreacted in this issue to Nightwing working undercover – but I don’t know their history from the New 52 days.

Nightwing_Vol_4_4

Nightwing (Volume 4) #4
Written by Tim Seeley
Art by Javier Fernandez

Out of all the books I have read so far, this is the one Rebirth book that seems to be following up on the developments of its New 52 predecessor series. A lot of this has to do with Spyral and the Parliament of Owls and it isn’t explained neatly for those coming back to Dick Grayson after being away since 2011. But that is not really a complaint so much as a comment. It is a good comic and I am curious to know more about this Parliament of Owls. Meanwhile, this Raptor character interests me as he keeps going from friend to foe and back again for Nightwing.

Nightwing_Vol_4_5

Nightwing (Volume 4) #5
Written by Steve Orlando and Tim Seeley
Art by Rogue Antonio

In this issue, Batman puts out a holographic beacon of himself all over the city so he can instruct people to evacuate…sorry but that is not Batman’s style and kinda takes away from that creature of the night thing. I did not like that. But anyways yay Cassandra Cain guest stars this issue (along with the rest of the Batfamily). Remember when Cassandra used to get ignored in Bat-family crossover (Hush I am looking at you!), not no more. I just wish she was still Batgirl. These monsters are super gross and this crossover was only ok but hey it’s great to see Cassandra.

Nightwing_Vol_4_6

Nightwing (Volume 4) #6
Written by Steve Orlando and Tim Seeley
Art by Rogue Antonio

More of this monster men crossover. The monsters are drawn as almost Godzilla-level huge. I don’t really want to see that in a Batman comic…but it was a decent issue. Still awesome we got some panels of Cassandra!

Nightwing_Vol_4_7

Nightwing (Volume 4) #7
Written by Tim Seeley
Art by Javier Fernandez

So the Raptor has a serious problem with the rich and that extends to Bruce Wayne who he kidnaps in this issue. It turns out he also knew Dick’s mother. Now, I know I have read this story before…someone from Dick’s circus days come back to haunt him. It has happened maybe more than once before. I hope Seeley does something original with it.

Nightwing_Vol_4_8

Nightwing (Volume 4) #8
Written by Tim Seeley
Art by Javier Fernandez

Ok while this story has been told before, the finale of this Raptor arc led to some great moments where Dick talks about how he and Bruce saved each other which was a great character study. So I did not dislike it for being repetitive. But I hope the next arc is something more original.

Nightwing_Vol_4_9

Nightwing (Volume 4) #9
Written by Tim Seeley
Art by Marcio Takara

Ok now we finally start to get to some DC Rebirth stuff! With the Titans showing up (So great to see Wally and Donna even for a moment!) and Superman discussing how he is from an alternate universe. In this issue, Superman shows up to tell Nightwing Dr. Destiny in his head. I like how Seeley has Superman notice that the New 52 universe is darker than the world he knew. Superman takes Nightwing in his dream to some place he would feel safe…BLUDHAVEN! Apparently New 52 Nightwing never lived there but he feels safe there. I suspect this is more confirmation of my theory they are all the same people from before Flashpoint with their memories erased. Dick feels safe in Bludhaven because his sub conscience remembers it. I hope I am right. In the final page of this issue Dick decides to see Bludhaven! I can’t wait! I have always thought of Nightwing and Bludhaven as being inescapable from each other. When DC destroyed Bludhaven during Infinite Crisis it did lead to some great Freedom Fighters stories but it was still a huge mistake…I imagine the result of Didio not caring about anything created since the Bronze age.

Nightwing_Vol_4_10

Nightwing (Volume 4) #10
Written by Tim Seeley
Art by Marcus To

Like I said, it is so great to have Nightwing in Bludhaven again. (Remember Cassandra Cain once lived in Bludhaven too and she is the greatest of all DC Characters.) The creators on today’s bat books definitely have the same respect for the time period of the bat books that I grew up with. They even mention a Dixon Park in this issue – a nod Bludhaven’s creator Chuck Dixon I am sure. This was by far the best issue of this series to date as it seems like Dick is going to settle down and gain a supporting cast like the old days. This is Bludhaven Rebirth! Also, Marcus To has become a much better artist since last time I saw his stuff.

Nightwing_Vol_4_11

Nightwing (Volume 4) #11
Written by Tim Seeley
Art by Marcus To

It seems that the New 52 Dick Grayson Robin never walked around in those little shorts. Which is fine by me I guess it is just weird when he isn’t wearing them in the flashbacks. But anyways, I did some research and a lot of these former villains in this issue are actually from 90s Bat comics. I love the continuity!  My only problem is that Defacer knowing Robin and Nightwing are the same person seems a bad idea. She better not also know she is Dick Grayson. They got to keep a lock down on their secret identities. But then something magical happened…the Orca showed up in the final page! Some people laugh at her but one of the first Batman comics I ever bought as a kid featured Orca. This made me incredibly nostalgic. It is almost like the Batman books are being catered directly to me these days.

Nightwing_Vol_4_12

Nightwing (Volume 4) #12
Written by Tim Seeley
Art by Marcus To

As happy as I was with this comic, why is Nightwing just straight up telling people he used to be Robin! That should not be public information! Anyways, Nightwing teams up with the Run Offs to clearn Defacer’s name and they get in a fight with the aforementioned Orca who it’s great to have back again.

Nightwing_Vol_4_13

Nightwing (Volume 4) #13
Written by Tim Seeley
Art by Marcus To

I have to say I never saw the surprise villain coming but this was another good issue. I sure hope Dick stays in Bludhaven pass this arc.

Nightwing_Vol_4_14

Nightwing (Volume 4) #14
Written by Tim Seeley
Art by Marcus To

I sure hope this Detective Svoboda sticks around. I like how she is a cop who wants to take credit for what superheroes do. Brilliant. I am annoyed at how easy it was for Defacer to figure out Dick was both Robin and Nightwing of course. That breaks the rules of the universe where Tim Drake is only suppose to be smart enough to do that. But whatever, it was still a fun comic book and I am glad it looks like Nightwing is back in Bludhaven for good.

Nightwing_Vol_4_15

Nightwing (Volume 4) #15
Written by Tim Seeley
Art by Minkyu Jung

Man, this Minky Jung is a great artist! DC, put this artist on something permanently. This issue was very sweet and shows how Character-driven Seeley’s work has been as we jump through the first two months of Nightwing’s new relationship with Defacer. In one issue Seeley had me loving their relationship and wanting it to continue! He really made their love for each other believable in just one issue…this guys deserves an award for that. Anyways, the final page scares me. It better not be what I think.

Nightwing_Vol_4_16

Nightwing (Volume 4) #16
Written by Tim Seeley
Art by Javier Fernandez

Ugh this issue had people tweeting about which Robin is their favorite….listen people should not know there have been more than one Robin! Why does Seeley keep doing this. I like the idea that the general public has no idea who is who. It keeps them a mystery. As much as the idea that Damian is annoyed that people think Dick will one day be Batman is cute, I don’t like this development at all. It seems to me that the New Teen Titans era is also remembered by Dick Grayson now as he refers to Starfire and him as having had sex as teens.  That makes me happy because I had the feeling that they were trying to say only the 70s Teen Titans were in continuity because well “Cyborg has always been in the Justice League thing.” Maybe this is just another example of their memories slowly returning I do not know but this issue actually dealt with the possiblity of Nightwing knocking up his girlfriend and her suddenly dissappearing. I have to give it to Tim Seeley…he is such a good writer he actually made me find Damian amusing. The final page reveals Deathwing…is this the same Deathwing from the ’90s Team Titans? We shall see.

Leave a Reply

