All-Star Batman 1 – 7

All-Star_Batman_Vol_1_1

All-Star Batman #1
Written by Scott Snyder
Art by John Romita Jr. and Declan Shalvey

Scott Snyder wrote some good Batman comics before Flashpoint. But I never read his New 52 run he is praised for because well…it was the New 52. Of course I did not read that crap. So now after Rebirth he gets his own Batman series to play around with. In this first issue, Two-Face tells Gotham he is going to expose their criminal secrets unless one of them saves him from Batman…I guess that is what happened. I really did not like the art in this book. Was this Declan Shalvey or John Romita Jr.? It was confusing and the characters were ugly to look at. I could see it working in another comic but not a Batman comic. I am also very suspicious of any story that has Alfred betraying Batman. It also doesn’t help I find this new character of Duke Thomas hard to give a shit about. I am hoping Snyder turns it around and makes me understand the need for this character? We shall see. I can’t say that I was impressed with this first issue. The “stilling” technique was super gross.

All-Star_Batman_Vol_1_2

All-Star Batman #2
Written by Scott Snyder
Art by John Romita Jr. and Declan Shalvey

Why is King Shark referred to as Trixie in this comic? I don’t remember that ever being his name. Anyways, the art continues to bother me. I like Shalvey’s art better than Romita but still they both annoy me. They aren’t right for this comic at all. I want to get excited to look at Batman, not be weirded out by it. Also, the non-linear storytelling in this comic is beyond annoying. What the hell is even going on? I thought people said Snyder was a great Batman writer? He sure makes Zsasz scary but so far that is it for me.

All-Star_Batman_Vol_1_3

All-Star Batman #3
Written by Scott Snyder
Art by John Romita Jr. and Declan Shalvey

In this comic, it looks like KGBeast basically blows up the Royal Flush Gang. I could care less about them so that doesn’t bother me one bit. Then Snyder does something I did not see coming…he brought back Harold! The mute hunchback who lived in the Batcave in comics from when I was a kid! I love it! He isn’t preseneted as a new character either. Bruce says he has worked for him for years. I hope that means slowly but surely most of Batman’s history is being returned to him. Maybe soon Cassandra Cain will remember her time as Batgirl! Let’s hope so. Anyways, Bruce and Harvey Dent are said to have gone to a rehab center for kids with issues or something like that where they first met as kids. I think this is a new idea? I don’t ever remember that before.

All-Star_Batman_Vol_1_4

All-Star Batman #4
Written by Scott Snyder
Art by John Romita Jr. and Declan Shalvey

I will admit that Snyder comes up with some cool gadgets and booby traps for Batman to have but man I hate the art in this comic book it makes it hard to enjoy it. I really hope that there is a happy ending to all this. Having all the innocent people turn on Batman for money is really depressing.

All-Star_Batman_Vol_1_5

All-Star Batman #5
Written by Scott Snyder
Art by John Romita Jr.

In the finale to this story Batman decides to not cure Two-Face in a long overdrawn standoff with the villain that I did not care about. Meanwhile, in another cool idea from Snyder, the cops go through the clock only to find a “man cave.” I like the idea that Batman would build a contraption that takes you to a fake place if you try to break into the batcave. But I am glad this story arc is over. It did nothing for me. Would I have liked it if it was a different artist? Maybe but we will never know.

All-Star_Batman_Vol_1_6

All-Star Batman #6
Written by Scott Snyder
Art by Jock and Francesco Francavilla

In the main story Batman is fighting Mr. Freeze who is trying to release a deadly bacteria from the polar ice caps that has been frozen for millenia. It is an interesting idea but once again they have paired Snyder with an artist that bugs the shit out of me. This time it is Jock. How is this the All-Star Batman book when Detective Comics and Batman are so much better as series…especially Detective. In the backup story with Duke’s training I liked the art much better…but still found the story completely confusing. Why is he solving Riddler’s riddles all of a sudden?

All-Star_Batman_Vol_1_7

 

All-Star Batman #7
Written by Scott Snyder
Art by Tula Lotay and Francesco Francavilla

In the main story of this issue, Batman goes to see Poison Ivy for help with the disease that was unleashed on the world. I have to say that this was the first issue of this series I actually enjoyed. Snyder really got into the psyche of Poison Ivy and how she is both villainous and incredibly caring for plant life and even for this little girl. I always liked that about the character and I hope we one day get to see Poison Ivy done right on the big screen. The back-up was still confusing and I have no idea where this is going. Why does Snyder always feel he needs to do non-linear storytelling? It works sometimes but not all the time.

 

Leave a Reply

