Intertwined

act883

Action Comics #883
Written by Greg Rucka and Eric Trautmann
Art by Pere Perez
Co-Feature by Rucka and James Robinson
Art by Cafu

The Superman books are some of the best intriguing, story-driven, and exciting comics I have read in a long time. Robinson and Rucka have crafted such a wonderful mystery here and I will keep saying it again and again. We finally get to see the Nightwing entity in action this issue albeit briefly. I love the new Nightwing and Flamebird costumes. They are simple and visually appealing and I like how they honor Superman on their belts. I hope these costumes stick around. Jimmy Olsen’s (possible murder) disappearance is investigated by Perry White. I am surprised that that plot point is being followed up here instead of by Robinson over in Superman but that just goes to show how tightly intertwined the books are right now. The Captain Atom co-feature makes great use of continuity by referencing Superman/Batman and Captain Atom’s time as monarch. I love continuity shout-outs like that! I guess that is why my blog is named what it is. Anyways, the art was fantastic and so was the writing on it. Great issue.

Leave a Reply

