The New Azrael Has A Great First Issue

az1

Azrael (Volume 2) #1
Written by Fabian Nicieza
Art by Ramon Bachs

This is two books in a row that I didn’t expect to enjoy but instead actually thuroughly enjoyed. I did not read this new Azrael’s mini nor the annuals leading up to the (heck I didn’t even read Jean Paul Valley’s series) start of this series but I still found that I could follow this debut issue and enjoy it. I already can tell you that I like the new Azrael – and the idea that in six months the character is going to be dead or possibly dead makes it all the more interesting. I like the fact that there is a person murdering those who were silent about sexual abuse by priests. I think that is some interesting territory to cover. It is dark but it fits the tone of the book. Bach’s art is different from his work on Red Robin but it fits the tone of this book. Good stuff for a debut issue. I hope this series is a sucess and it will be if it continues with this quality.

Leave a Reply

