Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride

batrobin1

Batman and Robin #1
Written by Grant Morrison
Art by Frank Quitely

Wow! I can not believe how amazing this was. Morrison’s prior run on Batman left me less then enthused; but this was just fantastic! This is Morrison at his best. He brings in crazy silver age sound effects and a flying batmobile but at the same time keeping it in sync with modern DCU sensibilities and creating a rather scary group of villains all in one issue! I love Mr. Toad and Professor Pyg. The best thing about this issue has to be the fact that Morrison writes the new Batman as Dick. He could have easily had Dick in the costume but take on Bruce’s persona but instead he talks like Dick Grayson talks. That is some good writing. Sadly, I doubt Winick will be doing that over in the main Batman book but we will see. I actually like Damian instead of downright loathing him as usual. I can’t believe I am saying this but if these stories stay this good, I don’t even care if Bruce comes back as Batman!

Leave a Reply

