A Pissed Off Blood Thirsty Diana

Wonder Woman (Volume 3) #30
Written by Gail Simone
Art by Aaron Lopresti

Wonder Woman gets really pissed off this issue and rightfully so. I love myself a pissed off blood thirsty Diana so I really enjoyed this. After Etta Candy is captured and tortured by Genocide, Wonder Woman single-handedly dismantles the society. I love how the usually frightening Phobia is even afraid of Diana here. Wonder Woman truly is a powerhouse in the DCU and a force to be reckoned with and Simone really portrays this well in this issue. I am sure some people will not like that Diana has resorted to killing Genocide but with a creature like this, she has no choice. She is not Superman and Batman, she is her own character and is willing to do what she believes is necessary. It is for this same reason that I have never had a problem with the murder of Maxwell Lord. As for the Olympian, his creation seems to be an after though in this story and not really something I am overly excited about right now. I thought he was going to be the male version of Diana, not Achilles. Unless he just has Achilles’s name and like Diana, is not the Achilles of myth. I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

