Mixed Feelings

bat681

Batman #681
Written by Grant Morrison
Art by Tony Daniel

My enthusiasm for this issue was nearly destroyed when I read Didio’s interview with Newsarama today. He basically confirmed Barbara Gordon will come back as Batgirl. I will get into that in a seperate post. Anyways, I have mixed feelings about this issue. When I first read it it seemed like a great ending if not a little underwhelming ending to this issue. The more I think about it the more I think Morrison’s ending for this was changed instead of Final Crisis. I don’t really see this as being such a shocking ending as Morrison described interviews. Sure Batman goes down in a helicoptor that blows up but it’s not like we see a body. One good thing about all this is Gotham certainly has a new group of villains in the form of the Club of Villains and the Black Glove but….I guess I expected some huge revelation, which there wasn’t one. Was the guy the Devil? Was he really Thomas Wayne? Was he Mangrove Pierce? I am not really sure. Daniel’s art is amazing and I don’t quite understand why people hate on it. I just don’t know what to think about this yet.

One thought on “Mixed Feelings

Leave a Reply

